Reviews from our Trekking and Hiking tours

“Exellent guide, amazing treck”

Reviewed September 1, 2016.

the Landmannalaugur treck (4 days) was wonderful. Our guide was very professional and knew the most beautiful places to see during the trip. Our group was very diversfied and friendly and the atmostphere was exellent in the evening. The food was good also.

Visited August 2016


“Thorsmork - Fimmvorduhals Volcano Hike - Day Tour”

Reviewed August 19, 2016.

My husband and I did this day hike in early August, and it was amazing! The 4x4 ride across rivers to get to the start of the hike itself was worth it!

We had a really great group - 8 hikers in total - and our guide Micah was awesome!

It is a strenuous hike, about 10 miles, and I'd definitely recommend hiking shoes. Micah told us it was his favorite day hike in the world, and after you do it, you can see why!

Visited August 2016


Thorsmork-Trekking Behind The Mountains - 3 Day Tour”

Reviewed October 18, 2015

My boyfriend and I went on this 3 days trek in early October this year and despite the weather being moody at times, the views were amazing and so was our guide, Fifa. It's definitely one I would recommend and go back to the area if I ever get the chance.

Thorsmork is a favourite desitination for native Icelanders- and now I know why. It's a place of such amazing colours and lava formations. It was great to stay in the cabin we were in at night- as it was big and spacious and clean and always warm. We always ate well- our guide Fifa saw to that. She did such a great job all round, telling us all about local plants and berries and animal life during the hikes. And of course- all about the elves and trolls and their 'churches'- as some of the rock formations are called.

The views were spectacular!

Thanks very much to Fifa for such a great time!

Daniela and David- from Ireland.

Visited October 2015

 


Six day hike along The Laugavegur Trail with Trek Iceland.” guided by Magdalena (Maggie) Nowak

Reviewed September 11, 2015

This was an amazing hike. I've done similar trips in New Zealand (Routeburn and Milford), Machu Piccu, Kilimanjaro, etc and this the best. Booking with Trek was easy and efficient providing us with all the information we needed. Our actual guide "Maggie" was amazing, fun to be with, informative, hard working, safety conscious and looking for ways to make the trip fun and memorable. She would hike all day, take care of her guest then lead our groups efforts in the kitchen to whip up an amazing meal. We had a great group of people from all over the world in our group, and Maggie helped bring us all together to make the experience that much better. I would do this hike again in an instant and only wish we'd had more time together.

Visited August 2015


“100% awesome!”

Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is what I wrote to the Trek office after our trip:

I wanted to take a moment to thank you for putting together an amazing Landmannalaugar trip! Our two guides, Magdalena and Aethor (apologies for the misspelling!) were outstanding: friendly, funny, knowledgeable, and amazing trail chefs! The other hikers were so much fun, and we truly enjoyed each others' company. Although our four days went by quickly, I felt we got a close up view of a part of Iceland that everyone should get to if possible. It's an absolutely unbelievable landscape! The days were a good workout, but the trail was not too challenging overall - even with the "refreshing" river crossings! It was, hands down, the best part of our trip to Iceland. Thank you for sharing your amazing country with us!

Visited July 2014

 


“Fantastic once in a life time trip”

Reviewed July 20, 2014

Recently did TREK 31 - Four Days Trekking in Vatnajökull National Park from Nupstaðarskogar to Skaftafell. Absolutely beautiful; really makes you appreciate the raw power of mother earth. Despite the poor weather conditions (freezing cold in the middle if summer and torrential rain) the highlight was definetly our guide Gummi who always had a smile on his face and really made the trip enjoyable. Even when you feel like you're about to give up Gummi was there to cheer you on and have a good laugh with you at the same time.

Visited July 2014


“Trek behind the Mountains”

Reviewed May 29, 2014

Wonderful-three days I will treasure forever. Porsmork nature reserve, stunning scenery, challenging trekking, comfortable accommodation and Svavar the new Icelandic GOD! (Guide). Put yourself in his kind and capable care and you will experience Iceland up close. The environment, the history, the magic. Thanks Trek for taking me beyond the mountain.


“Wonderful experience”

Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our tour guide was one of the most personable people I have ever met. He did a great job telling us all about the culture and natural wonders of Iceland. I learned a ton and truly enjoyed the entire experience. Even whe it started to pour down rain at the end of our glacier hike everyone had a great time. The fact that we got to see more than just the one glacier was amazing. I would highly recommend a trip with this company!


“Snaefellsjokull Glacier Hike”

Reviewed July 16, 2012

This trip was the highlight of our vacation in Iceland. The guider was extremely knowledgable, friendly, and safe. The hike was beautiful and challenging and once we got to the top it was an incredible feeling. Would definitely recommend this tour and company to anybody looking for an adventure.